Saturday, August 6, 2011

Catching Fire

Catching Fire (Hunger Games Series #2)

Collins, S. (2009). Catching fire. New York, NY: Scholastic Press.

The second book in the Hunger Games trilogy was a bit different than the first.  The first book focused on the Games, while the second has a lot to do with the decisions Katniss faces after winning the Games.  Will she ever get to lead a normal life again?  Will she ever marry?  Will she ever want to have kids after seeing how the Games changes your life, even if you do survive?  As she begins her mid-year tour, she starts to realize there are "things" going on in the districts.  (I don't want to give anything away.)  What is her role?  And then, it is time for the next Games, the Quarter Quell, Katniss and Peeta's first games as victors.  Every 25 years there is a special Games with a twist.  What is the twist this year?  I had a harder time getting into this book, but ended up enjoying it nevertheless.  In this book we see how Katniss, Peeta and Gale's lives were forever changed by the Games.  This one has many on to find out!

No comments:

Post a Comment